Food hygiene rating of 5 - how to get one

A food hygiene rating reflects the standard of food hygiene found on the day we inspect – it is not a guide to the quality of the food you serve.

A business is awarded one of six hygiene ratings ranging from 0 (the worst) to 5 (the best) based on:

  • how hygienically food is handled – safe food preparation, cooking, re-heating, cooling and storage
  • the condition of the premises – cleanliness, repair, layout, lighting, ventilation and other facilities
  • how food safety is managed and documented using a system such as Safer Food, Better Business or Safe Catering

What if I am unhappy with the food hygiene rating?

Your business should be able to achieve the top rating of 5.

If it does not, we will outline the improvements you need to make, give you advice on how to achieve a higher rating and tell you how to request a revisit for a reassessment.

Further help

The Food Standards Agency website also has a wealth of information and a range of guides on food safety management procedures and food hygiene regulations for small businesses.

What can I do if I think a rating is unfair?

If you think a rating is unfair you can: