About the Commissioners

The Commissioners are due to be in place until 9th June 2024 and will provide the Secretary of State with regular progress reports. The first report is due within three months then progress will be reported every six months.

Lead Commissioner – Mike Cunningham QPM

Mike Cunningham

Mike has been involved in policing for more than 30 years, most recently as Chief Executive of the College of Policing from 2018 – 2020, the standards setting body for policing in England and Wales. Formerly one of Her Majesty’s Inspectors of Constabulary, inspecting forces in the north of England and Northern Ireland, and the national lead inspector for the development and implementation of inspections into police efficiency, legitimacy and leadership, and Chief Constable of Staffordshire Police.

Local Government Improvement Commissioner - Joanna Killian

Joanna Killian

Joanna has more than 30 years of experience in the public sector delivering transformational change and service improvement. Since March 2018, she has been Chief Executive of Surrey County Council. Prior to this, Joanna worked at KPMG and was also Chief Executive of Essex County Council for 9 years.

Highways Commissioner - Neil Gibson

Neil Gibson

Neil is the former Executive Director of Transport Economy and Environment for Buckinghamshire County Council, where he also acted for a time as Interim Chief Executive. Neil is also a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Highways and Transportation and former President of the Association of Directors of Environment, Economy, Planning and Transport.

Regeneration Commissioner - Deborah McLaughlin

Deborah McLaughlin

Deborah has extensive experience working in Regeneration and Housing for over 30 years across public and private sectors, including as Director of Housing at Manchester City Council, regional director for the North West at Homes England and Director of Capita’s real estate business. Deborah has also previously worked at the Audit Commission as a Best Value Inspector and auditor.

Finance Commissioner - Stephen Hughes

Deborah McLaughlin

Stephen has a wealth of experience managing large complex and diverse organisations as both Chief Executive and Director of Finance. He is currently a Non-Executive Director at Housing and Care 21 and HS2 Ltd, where he is also Chair of the Audit Committee. His previous experience includes his role as Interim Chief Executive at Bristol City Council, Interim Strategic Director of Resources at the London Borough of Brent, Interim Executive Director for the Local Government Association and Chief Executive at Birmingham City Council. Stephen is CIPFA qualified.

Chief of Staff

The commissioner team will be accompanied by a Civil Servant, Chief of Staff, Tom Smith.