Choosing a school

Before expressing a preference for a school it is important that you understand the school's admission policy and know whether or not the school was oversubscribed in the previous year.

You can find admission polices and the number of applications received for each school by using our school search. You can also find out more about schools by:

If you are thinking of applying to schools in other local authorities you should contact the relevant local authority for information or visit the school websites for their admission policies.

Types of school

Community schools

The local authority decides which children are admitted to the following community schools:

  • Alsop
  • Calderstones
  • Fazakerley
  • Gateacre
  • Holly Lodge (girls)

Academies, Foundation, Trust and Voluntary Aided schools

The school governors decide which children are admitted to the following schools:


  • Bellerive FCJ Catholic College (girls)
  • Belvedere (girls)
  • Blue Coat
  • Childwall
  • De La Salle (boys)
  • Academy of St Nicholas
  • Liverpool College
  • North Liverpool Academy
  • St Edward's College
  • St Francis of Assisi
  • St Francis Xavier's Catholic Academy (boys)
  • St Margaret's C of E Academy (boys)
  • West Derby (boys)
  • King's Leadership Academy

Trust schools

  • Broadgreen

Catholic schools

  • Archbishop Beck
  • Broughton Hall (girls)
  • Cardinal Heenan (boys)
  • Notre Dame
  • St John Bosco (girls)
  • St Julie's (girls)

Church of England schools

  • Archbishop Blanch (girls)
  • St Hilda's

Jewish schools

  • King David